top of page
  • LegallyRun

A Warm Welcome

Hi All!


I hope you are all keeping well during these challenging times!


Some of you may already know me from my Instagram account LegallyRun but for those that don't, HELLO: my name is Sophie (otherwise known as LegallyRun) and welcome to my newly created blog!


For you newbies, heres a few facts about me:


  • I went to the University of Birmingham and studied Law with French Law and was lucky enough to spend my year abroad in Bordeaux (I can confirm the red wine is superb).

  • After I graduated I went straight into a family paralegal role and started studying for my LPC part time.

  • After the realisation that Family Law was not for me, I accepted the role of a Legal Assistant in the Real Estate department of a commercial law firm in Birmingham (where I currently work).

  • In my spare time I can be found attending various networking events, applying for training contracts (the bane of my life), running across the country for charity and managing my Instagram account.

  • In my spare spare time, I am an absolute sun worshipper, enjoy drinking tea and blood orange gin (not together) and having an early night!


I have wanted to set up a blog for a while but, quite frankly, I've never found the time to sit down, decide what platform to use and then write the blog posts. But since we are now all confined within four walls, I decided now would be the best time.


As I mentioned above, I thought I wanted to be a family lawyer when I left University and so my entry into the commercial legal market has been slightly delayed and it is only in the the last 18 months that I have attended Commercial Law events, developed my commercial awareness and acquired a true understanding what working in a commercial law firm is really like.


I therefore haven't had what you would call 'the traditional route' to obtaining a training contract (TRAINING CONTRACT STILL PENDING) and I think its important to make people aware that the majority of future lawyers will have been on different journeys to get where they are and it is these journeys which will provide diversity within the legal profession.


I like to think that becoming a lawyer is more than simply completing an application and conducting yourself well in an interview. It's about building your professional network, developing those vital skills required to be a lawyer and having other interests outside of the law. If you are able to do these things even before you get a training contract, I am a firm believer you will have a long and successful career; no matter what age you start your training.


I hope that this has given you a brief introduction as to who I am and my stance on the legal profession and I hope to share more of this with you! Whilst I do like to think of myself as fairly social media savvy, this blogging world is completely new to me so please bear with me and if there is anything in particular you would like me to cover, please let me know.


Stay safe and speak soon, LegallyRun x









238 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Lost

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page